The Federal Maritime Commission Newsroom


Chairman Harold J. Creel, Jr., Announces Several Executive Reassignments

January 4, 1999



NR 99-01

Washington, D.C. 20573

FOR RELEASE: January 4, 1999

Chairman Harold J. Creel, Jr., today announced several executive reassignments at the Commission which are effective immediately.

Initially, Chairman Creel advised that Commission Secretary Joseph C. Polking has retired after 33 years of service with the Commission. The Chairman praised Mr. Polking as a dedicated and outstanding public servant. "Joe was a key member of the agency's senior management team," said Mr. Creel, "and I join his colleagues and many friends in the industry in wishing him all the best as he moves on to a well-deserved retirement."

With Mr. Polking's departure, Bryant L. VanBrakle has been reassigned as the Commission's new Secretary.

Austin L. Schmitt will replace Mr. VanBrakle as the Director of the Bureau of Tariffs, Certification, and Licensing.

Florence A. Carr has been promoted to become a member of the Senior Executive Service and will replace Dr. Schmitt as the Director of the Bureau of Economics and Agreement Analysis.

Chairman Creel indicated that these reassignments will assist the Commission in fulfilling its statutory responsibilities. He emphasized, "These executives all are well-suited to their new positions, and I am confident that they will make positive contributions as the Commission implements the new shipping statute and addresses the important challenges that lie ahead."