Chairman’s Earth Day Award

About the Program:

The FMC Chairman’s Earth Day Award recognizes members of the maritime transportation industry for innovations and successes in developing environmentally sustainable shipping practices. Specifically, this award is to highlight technologies, programs, or practices of the maritime transportation industry that, through efficiency or innovation, benefit our environment. This is a non-monetary award and no prize money or funding will be distributed to the award winner. This is an award of recognition and past winners have been presented with a commemorative plaque at Commission headquarters in Washington, DC.


The Chairman’s Earth Day Award is open to participants that meet the following requirements:

  1. In the case of a private entity, shall be incorporated in and maintain a primary place of business in the United States.
  2. In the case of an individual, whether participating singly or in a group, shall be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
  3. Shall not be a Federal entity or Federal employee acting within the scope of their employment.


At the end of the submission period, eligible submissions will be evaluated by members of the MEC based on the following criteria:

  1. Programs or practices that provide an environmental benefit or reduction in environmental harm, including but not limited to efforts that encourage a reduction in emissions or pollutants.
  2. Programs or practices that are sustainable and also serve as models for others to follow or replicate.
  3. Efforts that increase the public's awareness of the maritime transportation industry's efforts to protect the environment.

General conditions:

The Chairman reserves the right to cancel, suspend, and/or modify the award process, or any part of it, for any reason, at the Chairman’s sole discretion. No rights are created by this announcement, the award process, or the determination of the award, which will be decided at the sole discretion of the Chairman, based upon the recommendation of the MEC.

Additional information:

The award winner may not claim FMC or MEC endorsement. This award does not constitute an endorsement of a specific product, program or practice by the FMC, MEC, or the US Federal Government.

2014 Chairman’s Earth Day Award Recipient

Chairman Mario Cordero was pleased to present the 2014 Chairman’s Earth Day Award to Richard D. Fain, Chairman and CEO of Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd. The award was given in recognition of Mr. Fain's environmental stewardship efforts and Royal Caribbean’s partnership with the University of Miami Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science (RSMAS).

Mr. Fain accepted the award, stating:

"I would like to thank Chairman Cordero and the Maritime Environmental Committee for recognizing Royal Caribbean with this award. The University of Miami and the Rosenstiel School have been great partners with Royal Caribbean and we are pleased that our ships provide an opportunity for scientists to collect consistent data related to oceanographic and atmospheric conditions, over a period of several years. This data serves as the basis for research projects and several long-term studies on how these conditions affect oceans, ecosystems, and coastal communities." Also, in describing the energy efficiencies built into the vessels among Royal Caribbean’s fleet, Mr. Fain explained: "Not only do several of our ships--including the two largest cruise ships in the world--lead the industry in waste management by re-purposing 100% of their operational waste, we consistently strive to have vessels that are more efficient, through better hydrodynamics, reduced emissions and improved fuel efficiency.


Chairman Cordero congratulated Mr. Fain and highlighted the partnership between a private entity and an academic institution:

"These unique efforts on behalf of the global ocean environment can serve as a strong example of best practices which can be followed by other members of the maritime transportation industry. I wish Mr. Fain and Royal Caribbean continued success with their environmental efforts and know they will continue to be a source of innovation within their industry."



Contact Information

FMC's Maritime Environmental Committee

Phone: 202-523-5911

Fax: 202-523-4224

E-mail: FMC's Maritime Environmental Committee

Related Links

Maritime Environmental Committee

Maritime Environmental Committee Events

Maritime Environmental Issues

Maritime Environmental Resources

Chairman's Earth Day Award

Committee Members

Andrew Gaidurgis (OIT)
Catie-Megan Moran (OS)
Colin Keohan (BOE)
Ernest Worden (BTA)
Jason Guthrie (BTA)
Lauren Engel (OGC)
Mary Hoang (Office of the Chairman)
Michael Gordon (Office of Commissioner Lidinsky)
Paul Schofield (OGC)
Rachel Dickon (OS)
Rebecca Fenneman (Senior Executive-Advisor)